nairaland NAIRA NAIJA NEWS BLOG: best blog in nigeria africa for breaking NEWS, sport news, gossip , information, leak ( leaks ), info about entertainment , events , promo, fashion, style ( make up , dressing, fittness ) articles , foreign updates, political analysis ( pdp, apc, world partiies ( party ) global politics, how to ( how-to ), photo ( photos ) jokes, accident , health tips ), hotel listing, competiton results, school listing, 

  • Latest News

    Tuesday, July 28, 2015

    (UPDATED) Gbajabiamila emerges Reps Majority Leader, South East loses out

    Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila

    Former Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, Mr. Femi Gbajabiamila, emerged as the Majority Leader of the 8th House on Tuesday after a leadership tussle spanning 49 days, starting from the inauguration of the House on June 9.

    The Speaker, Mr. Yakubu Dogara, announced the Lagos lawmaker as the majority leader about 3.19pm on the floor of the House.

    “Now, this is the big one,” Dogara told eagerly waiting members as he named Gbajabiamila the House leader.
    The announcement came following last-minute negotiations between the warring factions of the All Progressives Congress caucus of the House that had been involved in the leadership tussle.

    The choice of Gbajabiamila also altered the initial plan of the Speaker to zone the majority leader to the North-West.

    By Tuesday’s development, the South-West produced the majority leader.

    The position of Deputy Leader went to Mr. Buba Jibrin (North-Central), while Mr. Alhassan Ado-Doguwa (North-West) was named the Chief Whip.
    The position of Deputy Whip was given to Mr. Pally Iriase (South-South).

    The South-East became the loser in the APC’s caucus in the House.
    House Deputy Speaker, Mr. Yusuf Lasun, who is from the South-West, retained his position, laying to rest the speculation that he had been asked to resign in order to accommodate Gbajabiamila on the body of principal officers.

    The minority Peoples Democratic Party also unveiled its principal officers.
    Former Deputy Leader, Mr. Leo Ogor (South-South) was named the minority leader, while the post of deputy minority leader went to Ugochukwu Onyeama (South-East).

    Mr. Yakubu Barde (North-West) emerged as the minority whip, while Binta Bello-Maigeri (North-East) became the deputy minority whip.

    There had been no dispute in the PDP’s caucus over the choice of principal offices, unlike in the APC.

    Findings by The PUNCH showed that Dogara had invited all the actors to his back office on Tuesday, where they negotiated for nearly one hour before they finally struck an agreement.

    READ: Judge disagrees with probe panel over Aregbesola’s response

    The leadership crisis in the House of Representatives appears to have been resolved as the member, representing Surulere Federal Constituency of Lagos, Mr. Femi Gbajabiamila, has emerged the Majority Leader of the House.

    President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday met the representatives ahead of their resumption today but the federal lawmakers emerged from the meeting singing discordant tunes, suggesting that the meeting with the president had failed.

    • Blogger Comments
    • Facebook Comments


    Post a Comment

    Add Our BBM PIN For Instant Updates : BB PIN:53182C9D


    Item Reviewed: (UPDATED) Gbajabiamila emerges Reps Majority Leader, South East loses out Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Unknown
    Scroll to Top